One hundred and two riders have registered for the second edition of the Coppa dei Laghi / Trofeo Almar – U23 Nation’s Cup which will take place on Sunday 31 July on the Lombardy banks of Lake Maggiore. Seventeen countries, each with a team of six riders, will compete in the race that was won last year by the Italian champion, Gianni Moscon, in an unforgettably jubilant finale. Following the unofficial start in Taino, the group will make their way to Sesto Calende for the official start. Then it’s on to Angera to begin four laps of a 37 km circuit covering Taino, Osmate, Comabbio, Mercallo, Oneda and Sesto Calende. Finally, there will be one last shorter lap, making up a total of 180 km. The cobblestoned Tainenberg, that characterises the race, must be faced five times.

After four races, Norway lead with France on equal points (76), United Kingdom is third (59), Denmark fourth (40), Slovenia fifth (39), Italy sixth (32), Belgium seventh (28), Russia eighth (22), Switzerland ninth (21) and United States tenth (18). While waiting to see the best under-23 cyclists in the world at work in such an important challenge as the Nation’s Cup, the organisers are taking care of every single detail to ensure that everybody enjoys this cycling weekend. On Saturday 30 July, the official presentation of the participating teams will take place in Sesto Calende, in Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi. (Photo F.Ossola)

Teams will be presented in the following order:
18.33 – AUSTRIA
18.36 – RUSSIA
18.39 – UKRAINA
18.42 – ESTONIA
18.54 – MAROC
18.57 – POLAND
19.00 – SLOVENIA
19.06 – JAPAN
19.09 – GERMANY
19.12 – BELGIUM
19.15 – FRANCE
19.18 – ITALY