Today in Cittiglio, World Champion Elizabeth Armitstead won the 18th Alfredo Binda Trophy, third event in the 2016 calendar of the Women’s World Tour. She sprang into action in the final kilometre when she was in the company of seven other riders who broke away with the world champion during the second last climb of the Orino, 20 km from the end. This was the second successive victory for Armitstead in this spring classic organised by Cycling Sport Promotion and its president, Mario Minervino. Armitstead won the race with arms up, well ahead of her teammate Megan Guarnier, who beat the rest of the competition. Third place went to Jolanda Neff; followed by Emma Johannson, Alena Amialiusik, Katarzyna Niewiadoma and Annemiek Van Vleuten. The first Italian to cross the line was Giorgia Bronzini, who finished in tenth place together with a small group, a little over a minute behind the winner. There were 164 athletes at the start line: compared to the start list, only Evelyn Stevens (Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam) did not participate.

Marta Bastianelli (Ale Cipollini) was the first to break away, straight after the start. She was imitated soon afterwards by Emilia Fahlin (Ale Cipollini). The first concrete attack was made by Carmen Small (Cervelo) and Ann Sophie Duyck (Totsport Vlaanderen) who, about 50 km into the race, had about a minute advantage on the group. On the Casale climb, Carmen Small broke away from Ann Sophie Duyck while the group followed at about 50 seconds. The group compacted again 50 km from the finish. The first to transit the Orino GPM, 80 km into the race, was Swiss rider, Jolanda Neff (Servetto). On the second last time climbing the Orino, just after 90 km, a group of eight broke away: Elizabeth Armitstead (Boels Dolmans), Megan Guarnier (Boels Dolmans), Emma Johansson (Wiggle), Anna Van Der Breggen (Raboliv), Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Raboliv), Alena Amialiusik (Canyon), Annemiek Van Vleuten (Orica) and Jolanda Neff (Servetto Footon).

- Elizabeth Armitstead (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team), current world champion, won three 2015 World Cup events and the final general ranking. She was also winner of the last edition of the “Alfredo Binda Trophy”. So far in 2016, she has won the “Strade Bianche – World Tour”, the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad and the Alfredo Binda Trophy. The winner declared the following: “on the first attack, I worked a bit harder than the coach wanted. I didn’t want to lose sight of Neff. Bronzini was also very strong. I was supposed to be working for Megan Guarnier today but I tried an attack and it went well. It’s very special to win wearing the rainbow jersey in Italy because the jersey is more recognised and appreciated here. My main objective now is to win the Olympics and realize my dream. I miss track cycling but I don’t miss the training! The road is my real passion though. My life hasn’t changed much since becoming world champion because I am able to keep things balanced. Winning gives me the confidence to know that I can perform when I have to.”

- Brian Cookson, president of the UCI, when asked about the possibility of another world championships in the province of Varese: “Of course we can dream of another world championships, especially with organisers as competent as Mario Minervino and in such a beautiful setting”. On the same subject, however, Mario Minervino declared: “after organising Florence, I don’t think it’s for me. I already work hard enough to prepare the Binda and Da Moreno Trophies and the Almar Trophy at the end of July”. (Photo Flaviano Ossola)

Final results:
1) Elizabeth Armitstead (Boel Dolmans) km 123 in 3h11’10” media km/h 43,699
2) Megan Guarnier (Boels Dolmans) a 1”
3) Jolanda Neff (Servetto Footon); a 4”
4) Emma Johansson (Wiggle)
5) Alena Amaliusik (Canyon)
6) Anna Van Der Breggen (Raboliv)
7) Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Raboliv)
8) Annemiek Van Vleuten (Orica)
9) Lauren Kitchen (Hitec)
10) Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle) a 1’08”