More than 140 athletes, representing 21 teams, are registered to participate in the fourth edition of the “Da Moreno – mini-Alfredo Binda Trophy”, including five foreign national teams (France, Switzerland, Lithuania, Austria and Slovenia), one mixed foreign team and 15 Italian teams. Teams come from the following countries: Italy, France, Switzerland, Lithuania, Austria, Slovenia, Belgium, Holland, Norway, Great Britain and Russia.

Among the favourites: from beyond the Alps, Juliette Labous, second place in the 2015 edition of the “Da Moreno-mini Binda Trophy”, national time trial champion, fifth place in the World and European Championship time trials and fourth in the European Road Championships in Tartu; Maelle Grossetete, fourth place in the “Da Moreno Trophy 2015”, vice-champion in the time trials and protagonist at the World and European Championships; Pauline Clouard, sixth place last year in Cittiglio and seventh at the “Chrono des Nations” and Lucie Jounier, at the foot of the podium at the “Chrono des Nations“, Swiss rider, Lena Mettraux, who defended her national flag at the World Championships in Richmond, Belgian Nathalie Bex, fifteenth in the time trials at the European Championships and protagonist in Richmond, Dutch athlete Kylie Waterreus, twentieth in the continental trial in Tartu, Lithuanian Erika Kuodyte, third in the 2015 national championships, the mighty Dane Susanne Andersen, fifth in the Richmond World Championships and sixth in the individual time trials at the European Championships in Tartu, British rider Henrietta Colborne, second in the “Chrono des Nations 2015”, Slovenian Hajdi Zajc, current national vice-champion and Russian Kristina Stolbova (Team Zhiraf ASD), daughter of ex-professional cyclist Svetlana Bubnenkova, winner of the “Alfredo Binda Trophy – Cittiglio” in 2002 who dominated the “Giro d’Italia 2002”, twice winning the rainbow jersey.

Among the best Italian athletes, we find: Lisa Morzenti (Team Eurotarget – Still Bike), current Italian time trial champion, fifth in the “Chrono des Nations 2015“, seventh in the European Championships time trials in Tartu, with five wins during the past season; Martina Fidanza (Team Eurotarget – Still Bike), daughter of ex-professional rider Giovanni and younger sister of Arianna, professional rider with Astana Women’s Team, winner of two road races in 2015 and of the tricolour on the track; Elisa Balsamo (Team Valcar – PBM), current Scratch World Champion, European champion in the Team Pursuit, third at the Italian Championships 2015 in Superga and sixth at the World Championships in Richmond; Chiara Consonni (Team Valcar – PBM), who won 8 road races and reached the podium 14 times in her last U17 year; Marta Cavalli (Team Valcar – PBM), European Team Pursuit Champion and third in the Italian time trial Championships; Allegra Maria Arzuffi (Team Valcar – PBM), many-time Italian Cyclocross Champion, Letizia Paternoster (S.C. Vecchia Fontana), dominant in the European Youth Olympic Festival 2015 in Tbilisi, many-time Italian Track Champion and winner of 12 road competitions, with 20 podiums in the last season; Laura Tomasi (Team Wilier – Breganze), one-time Italian Road Champion; Elena Pirrone (G.S. Mendelspeck), gold medal in the individual time trials at the European Youth Olympic Festival 2015, Italian time trial and track champion and winner of 8 races in 2015, with 5 second places and 3 thirds, Alessia Vigilia (G.S. Mendelspeck), track tricolour, 14 times on the podium in 2015 with 7 victories, including Italian U17 Championships in Darfo Boario Terme and Sofia Nilda Frometa Leonard (G.S. Mendelspeck), 12 times on the podium in 2015, with two victories and a track tricolour. One final curiosity: Sara Margheritis (Team Valcar – PBM) from Cittiglio will also be at the start line. She lives right at the finish line of the competition organised by Cycling Sport Promotion and its leader Mario Minervino. In 2015 she achieved one victory, 2 seconds, a fourth and 2 fifth places.

In 2013, Lithuanian cyclist, Milda Jankauskaite, was first to cross the finish line in Cittiglio (Varese), imitated the following year by Amalie Dideriksen from Denmark, who was wearing the World Champion’s jersey, which she won again 6 months later on the roads of Ponferrada in Spain. Last season, though, there was an Italian triumph with Venetian rider Sofia Bertizzolo, European Champion and future vice-champion of the world, right behind Dideriksen. But that’s not all. There is still more good news for our many fans. Just a few more days until the announcement. (Photo Flaviano Ossola)


- Storia “Trofeo Binda – Coppa del Mondo” di Angelo Gaudenzi:

- Video Promo Gavirate (sede di partenza gare) di Flaviano Ossola: