Surprise final result at the 19th edition of the Trofeo Alfredo Binda that took place today between Taino and Cittiglio, with 147 athletes at the starting line, representing 25 teams from all over the world. The race was won by American cyclist, Coryn Rivera who beat Arlenis Sierra (Astana Women’s Team) in the final sprint, while third place went to Cecile Uttrup Ludwig. The race concluded with a sprint involving a large group of athletes; the race has never ended with such a large number of athletes. The sprint was so uncertain that two athletes raised their arms at the finish line. American rider, Rivera whose past involves sports as varied as soccer and mountain biking, was delighted with her victory.

Twenty-five year old Rivera is not unknown in the cycling world; she has won many national titles in her career, both on the track and in cyclo-cross, as well as numerous road races. Delighted with the day, the president of the organising committee, Mario Minervino commented: “Everything went wonderfully with two impressive podiums. Lots of people turned out along the route and at the finish line; it was a fantastic festival for cycling and for the region. Today we experimented with lots of forms of communication, from live streaming to web radio and we activated lots of social channels; the response was enthusiastic. I would like to thank RAI, an important partner, to whom I am grateful for everything they do to support female cycling in general and our race in particular. Thanks to the institutions, to all the Municipalities involved in the race and to the sponsors, invaluable friends of amazing sporting adventures”.

Elisa Longo Borghini is still the leader of the Women’s World Tour. Among the young riders, the category leaderis Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig. Longo Borghini explains the surprise result: “The level of female cycling in growing substantially and teams are now able to control the race. Bigla and Sunweb worked for their sprinters and their plan was successful. It is difficult for individuals to emerge”. (Photo Flaviano Ossola)

Final ranking:
1) Coryn RIVERA (team Sunweb) km 131 in 3h25’26” media km/h 38,348
2) Arlenis SIERRA (Astana Women’s Team)
3) Cecilie Uttrup LUDWIG (Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling)
4) Chantal BLAAK (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team)
5) Elena CECCHINI (Canyon Sram Racing)
6) Annemiek Van Vleuten (Orica Scott)
7) Eugenia Bujak (BTC City Ljubljana)
8) Katarzyna Niewiadoma (WM3 Pro Cycling Team)
9) Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle High5)
10) Asleigh Moolman Paso (Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling)