Elizabeth Armitstead (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team) won the 17th Alfredo Binda Trophy, the second trial of the Women’s World Cup in Cittiglio (Varese) today. The race started in Laveno Mombello and finished in Cittiglio after 123 fast kilometres. The winner of the World Cup 2014 who came second in the Olympics bet World Champion, Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Rabo Liv) at her season debut. Third place on the podium was filled by Anna Van der Breggen (Rabo Liv). The race was a tough one, as always here in Cittiglio. After an initial break by Katrin Garfoot (Orica), the race really got going 90 km from the start, with an attack by: Joelle Numainville (Bigla Cycling Team), Elisabeth Williams (Orica) and Linda Indergand (Switzerland). The group caught up with them again and then Lucina Brand (Rabo Liv) attempted to break away. On the second last circuit heading for Orino, six riders broke away: Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Rabo Liv), Anna Van Der Breggen (Rabo Liv), Elizabeth Armitstead (Boels Dolmans), Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle Honda), Alena Amialiusik (Velocio Sram) and Jolanda Neff (Switzerland), opening up a gap of 35” on the main group. It turned out to be the move of the day; in fact the six were not caught again. The final sprint decided the race with the victory of Elizabeth Armitstead who, thanks to the win in Cittiglio, is now leader of the World Cup 2015: “We are very tired but very happy with how the day went – commented Mario Minervino, president of Cycling Sport Promotion, this was an important day for female cycling in Italy, with two top level races. I would like to thank all of my many collaborators, who worked so hard to ensure the success of the event”. Obviously Elizabeth Armitstead was very happy: “I am very happy with the result. Today I was in good form. The last lap was very tough though.” World champion, Pauline Ferrand Prevot, who was beaten in the final sprint, was not too disappointed: “I’m in good shape already at this first race of the season and I’m happy with second place. To get back into top form, I have to race a lot more. My goal for the season is to keep my World Championship title”. (Photo Flaviano Ossola)

17th Alfredo Binda Trophy – Women’s World Cup
Final classification: 1. Elizabeth Armitstead (Boels Dolmans) km 123,70 in 3h8’13” avg km/h 39,433; 2. Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Rabo Liv); 3. Anna Van Der Breggen (Rabo Liv); 4. Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle Honda); 5. Alena Amaliusik (Velocio Sram); 6. Jolanda Neff (Switzerland) after 3”; 7. Annemiek Van Vleuten (Bigla Pro Cycling) after 1’31”; 8. Eleonora Van Dijk (Boels Dolmans); 9. Elena Cecchini (Lotto); 10. Ashleigh Moolmam Pasio (Bigla Pro Cycling)
Participants: 138, finished: 83

Highlights of the Alfredo Binda Trophy – Women’s World Cup will be televised at 21.00h on RAISPORT 1

The final sprint: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQlSF6h04sQ&feature=youtu.be